(General Knowledge) Awards & Honours : National - Dada Saheb Phalke Award

Awards and Honours


Instituted in 1970, the Dada Saheb Phalke Award is awarded by the Government of India for outstanding contribution to the cause of cinema. The award is named after Dhundiraj Govind Phalke, the father of Indian cinema, who made India’s first feature film Raja Harischandra in 1913.The award comprises a Swarna Kamal, a cash prize of Rs.1,00,000 and a shawl. The award was first given to Devika Rani in 1969, who became the first lady recipient of the award. Prithviraj Kapoor was the first to be honoured posthumously with the Dada Saheb Phalke Award.

List of Dada Saheb Phalke Awardees

Year Winner Occupation State
1969 Devika Rani Actress Andhra Pradesh
1970 B.N. Sircar Producer West Bengal
1971 Prithiviraj Kapoor Actor (posthumous) Punjab
1972 Pankaj Mullick Composer (Music Director) West Bengal
1973 Ruby Myers (Sulochana) Actress Maharashtra
1974 B.N. Reddy Director Andhra Pradesh
1975 Dhirendranath Ganguly Actor Director West Bengal
1976 Kanan Devi Actress Actress
1977 Nitin Bose Cinematographer Director, Writer West Bengal, Maharashtra
1978 Rai Chand Boral Composer, Director West Bengal
1979 Sohrab Modi Actor, Director, Producer Maharashtra
1980 P. Jairaj Actor, Director
1981 Naushad Ali Composer (Music Director)
1982 L.V. Prasad Actor, Director, Producer Andhra Pradesh
1983 Durga Khote Actress Maharashtra
1984 Satyajit Ray Director West Bengal
1985 V. Shantaram Actor, Director, Producer Maharashtra
1986 B. Nagi Reddy Producer Andhra Pradesh
1987 Raj Kapoor Actor , Director
1988 Ashok Kumar Actor West Bengal, Maharashtra
1989 Lata Mangeshkar Singer Maharashtra
1990 A. Nageswara Rao Actor AndhraPradesh
1991 Bhalji Pendharkar Director, Producer, Writer Maharashtra
1992 Bhupen Hazarika Composer (Music Director) Assam
1993 Majrooh Sultanpuri Lyricist
1994 Dilip Kumar Actor
1995 Dr. Rajkumar Actor Karnataka
1996 Sivaji Ganesan Actor Tamil Nadu
1997 Pradeep Lyricist
1998 B.R. Chopra Director, Producer
1999 Hrishikesh Mukherjee Director West Bengal, Maharashtra
2000 Asha Bhosle Singer Maharashtra
2001 Yash Chopra Director ,Producer Punjab
2002 Dev Ananad Actor, Director, Producer Punjab
2003 Mrinal Sen Director West Bengal
2004 Adoor Gopalakrishnan Director Kerala
2005 Shyam Benegal Director Andhra Pradesh
2006 Tapan Sinha Director Kolkata
2007 Manna Dey Singer Kolkata
2008 Y.K. Murthu Cinematographer
2009 D. Ramanaidu Actor, Producer

Join Online Coaching for SSC Exams

Join Online Coaching for SSC CHSL (10+2) Exams

Buy Printed Study Material for SSC Exam

Buy Printed Study Material for SSC CHSL (10+2) Exams